MARGINS Steering Committee
Continuing after October 1st, 2010 as the
GeoPRISMS Steering and Oversight Committee

MARGINS Steering Committee comprises 11-15 members (see below) who serve three years terms, on average. The committee meets twice a year (Spring and Fall) and their work involves, among others:

  • preparation of white papers and workshop proposals;
  • review the progress of the program according to the various science plans and feedback from program managers;
  • help promote the MARGINS program in the scientific community; and
  • provide advice and feedback to NSF program managers and the MARGINS chair concerning issues and problem that arise during the execution of the program.

Each Steering Committee member is expected to work actively to promote MARGINS in their respective community by recognizing the need and theme of workshops and/or theoretical institutes and to work with their community to prepare the necessary proposals.

Every semester two people usually rotate off the committee. Nomination to the committee is either via self nomination or nominations from the community following a “Call for Nominations” advertisement distributed every six months by the MARGINS Office, or recommendations made by retiring committee members. MARGINS has long adopted a policy with respect to committee membership in order for the committee to remain balanced, dynamic and unbiased: 1) Once a person has served on the steering committee, they cannot re-serve (unless they are being considered for the steering committee chair), and 2) There cannot be institutional duplication by committee members. Expertise on the committee is arranged to cover the generalities of each of the initiatives and focus sites, if at all possible.

MARGINS Steering Committee 2010 Members:
(Continuing after October 1st, 2010 as the GeoPRISMS Steering and Oversight Committee)

(Each name links to their personal website, if available)

Geoffrey Abers, MARGINS Chair, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, abers (at) (through Sept. 30, 2010)
Juia Morgan, GeoPRISMS Chair, Rice University morganj (at)
Ramon Arrowsmith, Arizona State University, ramon.arrowsmith (at)
Peter Flemings, University of Texas, pflemings (at)
Mark Behn,Woods Hole Oceanograhic Institution , mbehn (at)
Susan Bilek,New Mexico Tech, sbilek (at)
Mike Gurnis, California Institute of Technology, gurnis (at)
John Jaeger , University of Florida, jmjaeger (at)
(rotating on after Oct. 1)
Rosemary Hickey-Vargas, Florida International University, hickey (at)
Katherine A. Kelley , University of Rhode Island, kelley (at)
Michael Oskin , University of California Davis, meoskin (at)

Matthew Pritchard, Cornell University, pritchard (at)
Demian Saffer, Pennsylvania State University, dsaffer (at)

Donna Shillington, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, djs (at) (rotating on after Oct. 1)
Lori Summa, Exxon Mobil, lori.l.summa (at)
Clifford Thurber, University of Wisconsin-Madison, thurber (at)

Agendas from Steering Committee Meetings
Past Steering Committee Members

2009 MSC Review Documents

MARGINS is an NSF funded program

The MARGINS Office is Hosted by Columbia University

Last updated Monday, October 4, 2010